assume that you have just spent time making some entries into your company’s
accounting program. After making a
few entries, you discover that you need to make some changes and that it would
be easier to just start over with the data from your last backup. You can use your Backup Client to restore just the files you
Backup for Workgroups.
On the side bar, press the Restore button to display the Restore panel.
Press the Selected Files button to display the Restore – Selected Files and Folders dialog.
Select the files you wish to restore. On the left, navigate through a directory tree that displays the files and folders that you have backed up. Expand the folders and subfolders as needed to select items to restore. Use the radio buttons in the lower left to show or hide deleted files. When you hide deleted files, this listing shows all the files that were on your computer at the time of the last backup. If you show deleted files, you can select files that you deleted and wish to restore.
Select the file revision to restore. On the right, you can view the change history of any file that you highlight on the directory tree. The most recent file revision is automatically selected for restoration. If you have backed up multiple revisions of this file, you will see multiple listings, with the arrow indicating selection on the top or most recent revision. To select a previous revision, click on a file line item with a different date.
Destination for Restored Files. Use the radio buttons in the lower right to restore files to their original location or another location. When you select the Restore files to this location option, you can type in the path information directly or use the Browse button to select the location from a directory tree.
Security Settings for Restored Files. If you are restoring files to the same computer you should select this option. If you are restoring files to a computer other than the originating computer, you should not select this option because some of the security settings may not be applicable to a different computer.
the Begin Restore button once you have selected the files to restore
and have indicated an appropriate landing location.
Note for Windows 2016/2012/2008/2003/2000 and Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP Users: When you select System Files (Registry Files) to restore, you will be presented with a dialog box asking if you are restoring your data to the same computer you used at the time of your last backup or a different computer. If you are restoring your data to the same computer, the device drivers and services from your last backup will be restored. If you are restoring to a different computer, the device drivers and services currently residing on that new computer will remain unchanged; the device drivers and services from your backup data will not overwrite those residing on the new computer.
the restoration process, you may need to respond to any File Overwrite situations
that may be encountered.
When the Restore File Overwrite Confirmation dialog appears, you will need to make a decision as to whether you want to overwrite a particular file or not. If you know that you want every matching file overwritten and do not want to be prompted for each match, press the Yes to All button. If you do not want any files overwritten which may have the same name, press the No to All button.
the restoration process is complete and 100% appears in the title bar, press
If you restored the Windows Registry or a file that was in use at the time of the restoration, a new dialog will ask you to reboot your computer. Rebooting your computer activates the restored copy of your Windows Registry and any files that were in use during the restoration process. Otherwise, the Reports panel will appear automatically.
The Reports panel shows you that the last task performed was a restoration called Selected Files. If you would like to read more details about this particular restoration, press the Details button in the upper right corner. Viewing the details may come in handy if you would like to refresh your memory on the filename and location of where you restored the files.