Restoring Files to a Previous Point-in-Time with Roll Back

The Roll Back restoration option was designed to restore your files back to a selected point in time. Use this feature when you have made changes and you wish you hadnít. The Roll Back restoration option is designed to provide you with a convenient way of returning a file or groups of files back to their state corresponding to a specific point-in-time.

To roll back files or restore files to a previous point-in-time

  1. Run Backup for Workgroups on the computer you would like to roll-back.

  2. On the side bar, press the Restore button to display the Restore panel.

  3. Press the Roll Back button.  The Restore Ė Roll Back dialog appears.
    Click on the down arrow button to show the list of backup dates and times. Select the appropriate backup date/time from which you would like to restore your file(s).

  4. Use the radio buttons to roll back all of the files from this backup set or to select files individually. 

  5. Press Begin Roll Back. Your Backup Client logs into the Backup Server to retrieve the selected file(s). When your file is retrieved, it is restored to the original location in which it resided, which you can see in the directory tree.

    Note for Windows 2016/2012/2008/2003/2000 and Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP Users:
    When you select System Files (Registry Files) to restore, you will be presented with a dialog box asking if you are restoring your data to the same computer you used at the time of your last backup or a different computer. If you are restoring your data to the same computer, the device drivers and services from your last backup will be restored. If you are restoring to a different computer, the device drivers and services currently residing on that new computer will remain unchanged; the device drivers and services from your backup data will not overwrite those residing on the new computer. 
     

  6. When the restoration process is complete and 100% appears in the title bar, press Close.

    If you restored the Windows Registry or a file that was in use at the time of the restoration, a new dialog will ask you to reboot your computer. Rebooting your computer activates the restored copy of your Windows Registry and any files that were in use during the restoration process. Otherwise, the Reports panel appears automatically.

    The Reports panel shows you that the last task performed was a restoration called Roll Back. If you would like to read more details about this particular restoration, press the Details button in the upper right corner. Viewing the details may come in handy if you would like to refresh your memory of the filename and location of where you restored the files.