How to change a Backup Client and Server to a Backup Server only by removing the Backup Client from the Backup Server.
Backup for Workgroups is client / server software. By default the Backup Client is installed on the computer that is acting as the Backup Server. If you want the Backup Server to be just a Backup Server only and not include the Backup Server itself in the backup process, you can turn off the Backup Client that is on the Backup Server.
How to resolve this issue:
When you restart the Backup for Workgroups service, it will disable the Backup Client on the Backup Server. You can verify this by opening the Backup for Workgroups admin. You should see 4 buttons on the left hand side of the screen.